Skip to content

Country

Her Stories: African American Folktales and Fairy Tales

Original price $ 25.99 - Original price $ 25.99
Original price
$ 25.99
$ 25.99 - $ 25.99
Current price $ 25.99
SKU AAFT978-0590473705

Virginia Hamilton (A) and Leo and Dianne Dillon (ILT)

List Price: $25.99 (Hardcover - African American Folktales / Fairy Tales - 1995)

Coretta Scott King Author Award Winner

In the tradition of Hamilton's The People Could Fly and In the Beginning, a dramatic new collection of 25 compelling tales from the female African American storytelling tradition. Each story focuses on the role of women -- both real and fantastic -- and their particular strengths, joys and sorrows.

From lighthearted trickster tales such as Little Girl and Buh Rabby to the enchanted world of Mary Belle and the Mermaid, Her Stories presents a broad range of folktales, fairy tales, and legendary women. Annie Christmas, the notorious seven-foot-tall riverboat operator, shares the stage with Cat Woman, a New Orleans vampire; tiny fairy folk make a rare appearance, and the unforgettable Catskinella, a strong-minded beauty, outwits her father and goes on to win her prince. Closing the book, three true autobiographical stories provide readers with intimate personal accounts of events in African American history, from slave times to the present. (128 pgs) All Ages

Grade Level: Preschool-All Ages
Lexile Measure: 880L
Product Dimensions: 9.2 x 0.8 x 11.5 inches
Shipping Weight: 1.7 pounds